Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
Browse By Category
Travel, Geography & Exploration
Vintage Children's Books
18th Century and Before
19th Century
Modern Lit: Fiction
Non-Fiction
History
Fine Press
Art; Photography; Architecture
Ephemera

View Other Categories & Sub-Categories
 
 
 

Blind Horse Books Subscribe To Blogs Via RSS

Today’s Literary Birthday: P.L. Travers creator of Mary Poppins



Best for the Mary Poppins series of children's books
featuring the magical English nanny Mary Poppins.

Today’s Literary Birthday! Emily Bronte, author of Wuthering Heights.


An English novelist and poet who is best known for her only novel,

Wuthering Heights, now considered a classic of English literature.

Today in Literary History: Birthday of A. J. Cronin


Scottish novelist whose writings ushered in the National Health Service
and the Labour Party's landslide victory in 1945

Remembering Hunter Thompson today on his birthday and raising a toast to the spirt of Gonzo.


Hunter Thompson (July 18, 1937 – February 20, 2005) was an American journalist and author,
and the founder of the gonzo journalism movement.

TODAY IN LITERARY HISTORY Let’s Remember E. B. White


Perhaps best known for his children’s books:
Stuart Little, Charlotte's Web, and The Trumpet of the Swan.

He was a contributor to The New Yorker magazine
and a co-author of the English language style guide The Elements of Style


Today in Literary History July 2 Remembering the birth of Hermann Hesse.



Hermann Karl Hesse (2 July 1877 – 1962) was a German-born Swiss poet, novelist, and painter.
His best-known works include Steppenwolf, Siddhartha, and The Glass Bead Game,
each of which explores an individual's search for authenticity, self-knowledge and spirituality.
In 1946, he received the Nobel Prize in Literature.

TODAY IN LITERARY HISTORY: June 26 Birthday of LYND WARD



American artist and storyteller, known for his series of wordless novels
 using wood engraving, and his illustrations for juvenile and adult books.

TODAY’s LITERARY EVENT: Birthday of George Orwell, June 24, 1903



Ranked by The Times as second on a list of
"The 50 greatest British writers since 1945",
his work is marked by lucid prose, awareness of social injustice,
opposition to totalitarianism,
and outspoken support of democratic socialism.


TODAY’S LITERARY CELEBRATORY: On his Birthday, June 24, AMBROSE BIERCE.


Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce (June 24, 1842 – circa 1914)
was an American editorialist, journalist, short story writer, fabulist, and satirist.

TODAY’S LITERARY Birthday Rockwell Kent, artist, book illustrator and author


A transcendentalist and mystic in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson,
 whose works he read,
 Kent found inspiration in the austerity and stark beauty of wilderness.



Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to richard@blindhorsebooks.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie